We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Provost Robertson's House
of 1

Provost Robertson's House

Historic Documents
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Provost Robertson's House
Historic Documents
89
Provost Robertson's House
Drawing by G. Gordon Burr of Provost Robertson's House in Ross's Court, off Upperkirkgate. The drawing looks along Ross's Court, south east, towards Upperkirkgate, which can be seen through the pend in the centre.

Alexander Robertson of Glasgoego was Provost 1740-41. Above the building's doorway was an oblong panel with the inscription "Alexander Robertson - Jean Strachan - 1730". Over this was another panel with the remains of a representation of the Robertson coat of arms.

The house was removed in 1899 for new premises, designed by R. G. Wilson, for Aberdeen University Press.
Drawing
B25_13 [B26_09]
Buildings, General Buildings
Aberdeen Local Studies
Yes
Other Items Like This
Provost Ross' House in the Shiprow
In Memoriam St. Nicholas House 1970-2011: 1
Cumberland House