We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Seaton House
of 23

Seaton House

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Seaton House
Historic Photographs
Seaton House
The house was acquired by Aberdeen City Council in 1947 and was demolished in 1963 after being destroyed by fire.

Previous owners had been the Hay family since 1849. The house was of three periods. The oldest portions in the north-west wing, dating from the mid 17th century were built by James Gordon, a baillie of Old Aberdeen in 1661, who died 1714.

The most interesting part was the south block, built of brickwork with dressed work in sandstone, the piended roof slated; the main entrance doorway in the central section under the pediment and three-light window was grand classical architecture. It was built around 1715 for Gordon's son-in-law, Colonel John Middleton, MP for the Aberdeen Burghs and the architect was possibly Middleton's friend James Gibbs.

The north-east wing was early 19th Century in date.
Buildings, Homes and Mansions
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Union Street junction with Broad Street
Broad Street looking South
Gilcomston Steps, Skene Square