We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Bannermill from Broad Hill
of 1

Bannermill from Broad Hill

Historic Photographs
Sarah Dyce
This item is active and ready to use
Bannermill from Broad Hill
Historic Photographs
Bannermill from Broad Hill
A photograph looking south west from Broad Hill towards the Bannermill (or Banner Mill) cotton works.

The road in the foreground is that which would become Links Road. This continued along the north side of the factory and had a junction with Constitution Street at the north east corner of the works. The land shown in front of Bannermill is Queen's Links.

The location of Bannermill is now occupied by a large square shaped complex of mostly early 21st century flats (completed 2004), with parking in its middle, and a main entrance, on Bannermill Place, accessed from Constitution Street.

The factory was established in 1827 by Thomas Bannerman and closed down in 1904, then under the management of Messers Robinson, Crum & Co. Limited.

The premises were used as stores and for various types of works during the 20th century.

In 1999 the 5.8 acres site was put on the market by the then owners, the North Eastern Farmers (NEF) co-operative, with a price of around £5million. NEF left the site in February 1999 to move to a new headquarters at Rosehall, Turriff. (See P&J, 11 November 1999, p. 7)

Aberdeen City Council subsequently produced a planning brief for developers calling for a housing or mixed housing and hotel development on the site.

Wimpey House submitted a plan for 349 luxury flats and this proposal was given the go-ahead. Construction primarily took place during 2002 and 2003, with the first residents moving-in in October 2002.
Queen's Links
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Aberdeen City Hospital
First aeroplane at Aberdeen
The Broad Street side of the Town House