We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Tomb of Bishop Gavin Dunbar
of 1

Tomb of Bishop Gavin Dunbar

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Tomb of Bishop Gavin Dunbar
Historic Photographs
Tomb of Bishop Gavin Dunbar
The tomb of Bishop Gavin Dunbar at St. Machar's Cathedral, Aberdeen.

Gavin Dunbar was appointed Bishop of Aberdeen on 5th November 1518 and died on 9th March 1532. He became a great benefactor not only of King's College, but of the town.

It was he who took over the plans left after the death of Bishop Elphinstone and created the Bridge of Dee which opened road access to the City, from the south.

Dunbar also built the twin towers at St. Machar's Cathedral and gave its magnificent ceiling at his own expense. It comprises 48 heraldic shields including the arms of Scottish monarchs, nobles, Kings of Europe, and Scottish Bishops.

When he died in 1532, he was buried in the south transept of the cathedral. This was virtually destroyed after the collapse of the great central tower in 1688, and a recumbent statue of white marble of Dunbar was broken into pieces during the Reformation.

The splendor of the six foot richly carved arch of Morayshire freestone is still obvious despite its exposure to the weather. A bishop's mitre surmounts the Dunbar coat of arms and his initials, at the right hand side.
Old Aberdeen
Memorials and Inscriptions
Aberdeen Local Studies