We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Gaelic Chapel, Belmont Street
of 6

Gaelic Chapel, Belmont Street

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Gaelic Chapel, Belmont Street
Historic Photographs
Gaelic Chapel, Belmont Street
The Gaelic Chapel was founded in the 18th century in response to the increasing numbers of Highlanders who came to the city in search of work.

At first, they held services in the East Church of St. Nicholas but, in the 1790s, they obtained ground in the area between Belmont Street and Back Wynd, now known as Gaelic Lane.

The opening services in the new church were conducted on 30th August 1795. In 1843, at the Disruption, the whole congregation followed their minister, Rev. Hugh Mackenzie, into the Free Church.

By 1882, the church had become old and dilapidated and needed so much renovation that the congregation decided to move. The property was disposed of and was used as a printing office by G. & W. Fraser for a number of years.

The congregation moved to a church on Dee Street which had become vacant on the disbanding of the United Free Methodists and it was named St. Columba United Free Church.

In 1907, they amalgamated with the High United Free Church and moved to their church at the junction of Belmont Street and Schoolhill.

Comparing the scene shown here and large scale historic maps suggests that this is likely a view of the rear of the Gaelic Chapel buildings, looking north, potentially taken from the back of a building on Union Street.
Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Castlehill Barracks
The Hardweird
High Street, Old Aberdeen
Pittodrie House