We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
The Free South Church
of 62

The Free South Church

Online Exhibitions
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
The Free South Church
Online Exhibitions
The Free South Church
The church now known as St. Mark's was constructed as the new home for the Free South Congregation. They had previously worshiped in the southern part of Archibald Simpson's Triple Kirks.

The first public sermons were held in the church on the evening of 17th March 1892, shortly after its construction. Along with the Public Library the church was one of the first buildings along the new Rosemount Viaduct. The official opening sermons were delivered on the 18th by Dr Walter Ross Taylor, of Glasgow, and Rev. Professor Salmond, D.D. This was the first occasion that the Lord Provost and magistrates had officially attended the opening of a dissenting church.

"Church architecture has become so much associated in one's mind with tall spires and gothic windows, that there is difficulty on the part of many people of the old school in reconciling themselves to any departure from that idea. There is no reason, however, why there should not be varieties in ecclesiastical architecture as well as in other public buildings, and the new Free South Church in Aberdeen, which is just undergoing the finishing touches, and will be opened on Sabbath next for public worship, affords a welcome change in its external aspect from the general style of such buildings." The Evening Express, 16th March 1892.
Yes
Items included in this Online Exhibition
Rosemount Viaduct
Rosemount Viaduct
Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen
William Wallace statue