We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Purchase Item

Westburn Park

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Historic Photographs Details
A group of children stand outside Westburn House. To the right of the image is the park's drinking fountain.

Westburn House was designed in 1839 by the architect, Archibald Simpson, for David Chalmers of the printing family who published the "Aberdeen Journal" newspaper.

It is a single storey building, with a 2-storey centre gable at the north and a portico of Doric pillars on the west side. It is constructed of brick with a stucco finish.

The 25-acre estate was bought by Aberdeen Town Council in 1900. The lands, which had in early times been used for sheep grazing, were now converted into a public park. The vegetable garden became a recreation ground; the stables and carriage sheds now stored tools; the walled flower garden and orchard were laid out as a bowling green. A pond was created from the burn which runs through the grounds.

The house was first used as refreshment rooms and the veranda, with its wrought iron columns, was added to allow people to enjoy their teas and coffees in the open air. Since then, it has had many uses including a clinic and meeting place for playgroups. Its future is currently under discussion by the City Council.
Purchase Options