We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Purchase Item

Tilling-Stevens petrol electric bus

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Historic Photographs Details
In 1901, Aberdeen Suburban Tramway Company proposed a system of tram routes running from the city to the suburban areas of Bucksburn and Bieldside. These came into operation in 1904. In 1914, the Company decided to acquire three Tilling-Stevens petrol electric buses to augment their tram service. These vehicles had a petrol engine which was used to drive a dynamo which, in turn, fed an electric motor driving the wheels. It was claimed that they were cheaper to use and easier for tram drivers to learn to operate. They were double deck open top rear entrance vehicles with benchseats inside for 20 passengers and slatted wooden seats for 18 passengers on the upper deck. Their maximum permitted speed was 12 mph. All three buses were converted to charabanc bodies in 1921, and were sold in 1927.
Purchase Options