We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Aberdeen Electric Lighting: Route of Mains
of 1

Aberdeen Electric Lighting: Route of Mains

Historic Documents
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Aberdeen Electric Lighting: Route of Mains
Historic Documents
388
Aberdeen Electric Lighting: Route of Mains
A plan showing both the current electrical mains cabling from the Cotton Street generating station, in blue, and a significant proposed extension in red. Probable customers for the Corporation's electricity have been identified and are are marked on the plan with a red cross.

This plan dates from fairly early in the town's electrification. Aberdeen's first electrical works, at Cotton Street, had opened in 1894. This plan, that was lithographed by G. Cornwall & Sons, Aberdeen, is dated 24th March 1896.

Cotton Street functioned as the town's sole and main electricity works up until the construction of the larger Dee Village station, which formally opened March 1903.
Plan
UT01_02
Utilities
Aberdeen Local Studies
Yes
Other Items Like This
Circular route via Albyn Place
James Alexander Bell
Cotton Street Electricity Works
No. 27 Tram