We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Elim Pentecostal Church
of 1

Elim Pentecostal Church

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Elim Pentecostal Church
Historic Photographs
2756
Elim Pentecostal Church
This building at 50 Marischal Street was first used as a church as part of a scheme to reconstitute the then dissolved Trinity Parish. Its congregation had been based at the church on Exchange Street that became the Alhambra music hall.

The Marischal Street building was the Theatre Royal before being remodeled to serve as a church in the 1870s. The parish's first minister was Rev. James Park. See Alexander Gammie's Churches of Aberdeen (1909) for more information on this congregation.

The Trinity Parish Church was put on the market around 1934 and was purchased by a member of the Aberdeen branch of the Elim Four-Square Gospel Alliance, Mrs Isabella Gordon, and presented to this organisation.

The Aberdeen branch opened in 1932 and had previously held meetings in the Music Hall, the Aberdeen Business Women's Club on East Craibstone Street, and the Balmoral Hall on Gray Street.

The Elim Tabernacle on Marischal Street was officially opened on Saturday 25th August 1934. A report of the opening can be read in the Press & Journal of Monday 27 August 1934.
Marischal Street
Churches
David Oswald
CH01_06
Aberdeen Local Studies
A Silver City Vault user got in touch to share the following comment:

"Trinity Parish Church united with the North Parish in King St to become North & Trinity. The organ in Trinity by Wadsworth Aberdeen and Manchester 1895 was moved to Crown Terrace Baptist Church in 1932 by E H Lawton Organ Builder, Aberdeen".
Other Items Like This