We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Banner Mill, Aberdeen
of 1

Banner Mill, Aberdeen

Historic Documents
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Banner Mill, Aberdeen
Historic Documents
381
Banner Mill, Aberdeen
A drawing of the Banner Mill (Bannermill), from the north, by W. Clerihew and dated 1837.

The accompanying information states that the factory was the property of Thomas Bannerman and was planned by Messers Hewes & Wren and their successors Hewes & Bennet.

Thomas Bannerman, a Dean of Guild of Aberdeen who took an active part in Aberdeen's public life, established the factory in 1827 and its name is taken from him.

The factory, with 100,000 spindles and preparatory machines, was built on the "sandy lands" of Aberdeen adjoining the Queen's Links. This location also gave the Sandilands Chemical Works its name.

In the background of the drawing can be seen the spire of St Clement's Parish Church in Footdee.

The Bannermans were an influential family with long established connections to Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire. For more details on their history see an Evening Express article about the factory's closure from the 12th March 1904 issue.

The Bannermans sold the factory in 1850 to Messers Robinson, Crum & Co. Limited. The principal partners in this latter firm were Mr Hardy Robinson of Denmore and Mr Crum, a Renfrewshire millowner. They ran the factory until its closure in 1904.
Drawing
ID01_01
Factories, Mills
Aberdeen Local Studies
Yes
Other Items Like This
Stoneywood Mill Sports Day
Stoneywood Mill Sports Day
Mill of Udny