We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
The main concourse of the rebuilt station looking north
of 1

The main concourse of the rebuilt station looking north

Historic Photographs
Léa Moreau
This item is active and ready to use
The main concourse of the rebuilt station looking north
Historic Photographs
2640
The main concourse of the rebuilt station looking north
In the century since the new station opened has
there have been many changes. 1923 saw the
Grouping of the Railways with the GNSR and NBR
becoming part of the London and North Eastern
Railway (LNER) and the Caledonian part of the
London Midland and Scottish Railway (LMS). In
1948 both were absorbed into the nationalised
British Railways.

The 1930s saw mixed fortunes; new and
improved rolling stock was introduced including
more powerful locomotives. Conversely bus
competition was decimating traffic on branch
lines including Deeside and Buchan; suburban
trains ceased in 1937. During World War 2 all
the glass was removed from the station roof
and replaced by plywood to avoid the effects of
blast and comply with blackout regulations. The
sections were carefully stored under a disused
platform at Fyvie station until the end of the
war.
2. Copyright known - held by third party
Other Items Like This
Aberdeen Joint Station
Demolition of the old arched roof in 1913, showing the rolling gantry used to assist the work
Lifting Guild street Goods Yards
The Harbour