We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Powis "Minarets", Old Aberdeen
of 1

Powis "Minarets", Old Aberdeen

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Powis "Minarets", Old Aberdeen
Historic Photographs
2494
Powis "Minarets", Old Aberdeen
These curious towers stand at the gate that once led to Powis Lodge, almost opposite King's College, Old Aberdeen. They were constructed by John Leslie of Powis, who succeeded his father, Hugh Leslie of Powis, the builder of Powis House (1802). The house was demolished in 1938 in connection with the Powis Housing Scheme.

John Leslie succeeded his father in 1812, and the singular gateway, with the "minarets" dates from about 1830. The towers were finished in 1834. See article "Powis and its Hermitage" by Mr. J. G. Burnett of Powis, in The Book of Powis, 1906. The crescent on the top of of one of the towers is the crest of the Frasers, the predecessors of the Leslies in the property of Powis.
Old Aberdeen
Gateways
A45_20
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen