We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
The Sick Children's Hospital
of 1

The Sick Children's Hospital

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
The Sick Children's Hospital
Historic Photographs
2423
The Sick Children's Hospital
Aberdeen's first hospital for children was opened in Castle Terrace in September 1877. The only parts of the old hospital open to the sun and air were the iron balconies at the rear of the building. The hospital moved to Foresterhill in 1929 as an early part of the Joint Hospital Scheme. The building in Castle Terrace was put up for sale and eventually bought in 1938 by Alexander 'Cocky' Hunter.

Silver City Vault user Ed Fowler informs us that the hospital building incorporated the original house at 6 Castle Terrace of Naval Surgeon Dr Patrick Blackie. Dr Blackie used his house for his surgeries and to provided medical services to the local community. The original house is in the central block to the right of the main entrance and shows a break of continuity to the Main Architectural Facade.
Castle Terrace
Hospitals
K37_15
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Sick children
The Sick Children's Hospital
Aberdeen Women's Alliance: Memories of the Children's Hospital