We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Aberdeen Corporation's Electricity Works
of 1

Aberdeen Corporation's Electricity Works

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Aberdeen Corporation's Electricity Works
Historic Photographs
1754
Aberdeen Corporation's Electricity Works
The turbine hall of Aberdeen Corporation's Electricity Works, corner of Crown Street and Millburn Street. Hydraulic power was obtained via a special water intake from the River Dee near Stell Road.

Silver City Vault user Ed Fowler flagged up that the report for a 1907 visit to the works by the Institute of Mechanical Engineers is available to read online. It contains an interesting section with details of the switchboards visible in this image:

"Switchboards.- The electric light and traction switchboards, which run along the south wall for about two-thirds of its length, stand in line with one another on a raised gallery of cast-iron columns and girders supporting a glass fireproof floor about 12 feet above the engine-floor level. The glass floor in the gallery not only serves as an insulator, but also allows a certain amount of light to pass into the area immediately underneath. Both boards are of white marble, the lighting board having been supplied by Messrs. Siemens Bros. and Co., while the traction board of their ordinary standard type was supplied by the British Westinghouse Co."
Milburn Street
Works
EP01_04
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Electricity tunnel
An Aberdeen Corporation Electricity Works electricity tunnel
Dee Village
Aberdeen Corporation's Electricity Works