We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
The Episcopal Chapel in Longacre
of 1

The Episcopal Chapel in Longacre

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
The Episcopal Chapel in Longacre
Historic Photographs
1750
The Episcopal Chapel in Longacre
An engraving of the Episcopal Chapel in Longacre.

Gammie's Churches of Aberdeen (1909), tells us that this was opened for service on 13th September 1795.

It was built on the site of Bishop John Skinner's house, the upper two floors of which had served as the congregation's meeting place. On 14th November 1784 this was the scene of the consecration of Dr. Samuel Seabury as the first Bishop of Connecticut.

The 1795 opened chapel was bought by the Wesley Methodists in 1818 and served as Aberdeen's centre of Methodist activity until 1873.

This chapel was the predecessor to St Andrew's Episcopal Cathedral on Kings Street. The building was eventually demolished to make way for extensions to Marischal College.
Longacre
Churches
EP01_02
Aberdeen Local Studies