We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Cullen House from the south-east.
of 1

Cullen House from the south-east.

Historic Photographs
Sarah Dyce
This item is active and ready to use
Cullen House from the south-east.
Historic Photographs
1724
Cullen House from the south-east.
Cullen House is situated in the small town of Cullen on the Moray coast. It occupies a site where, at one time, stood a monastery and later a fortress. The present building dates from 1602 and is an enormously complicated structure which has had various extensions added over the centuries. It was the ancestral home of the Earls of Seafield but they have not resided there since 1975, when it was decided to put the house and its contents up for auction. During the period 1982-85, the house was converted into separate dwelling houses by architect Kit Martin but, in 1987, the building suffered a serious fire and has subsequently been restored. This view was taken from the south-east by local photographer Seivwright when the house was still occupied by the Earls of Seafield.
C55_04
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Triple Kirks, Denburn
Provost Skene's House from the South
South Harbour
Town and harbour of Aberdeen