We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Mutton Brae and Lower Denburn
of 1

Mutton Brae and Lower Denburn

Historic Photographs
Sarah Dyce
This item is active and ready to use
Mutton Brae and Lower Denburn
Historic Photographs
1668
Mutton Brae and Lower Denburn
Mutton Brae and Lower Denburn, Aberdeen. Mutton Brae ran from Schoolhill to Lower Denburn. Many of the houses there were occupied by handloom weavers who worked in a large cotton factory at the corner of Belmont Street and Schoolhill. The missionary Mary Slessor lived here. After the factory closed in 1830, the buildings were demolished and the site was developed for the three Free Churches, designed by Archibald Simpson, which opened in 1843/44. These are now referred to as the Triple Kirks. Many of the other houses were demolished to allow the building of the Denburn Valley Junction Railway which opened in 1867.
C50_12
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
The Denburn and Mutton Brae from Bleachfields
Denburn Valley
Denburn
Upper Denburn and Hardweird