We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Lower Justice Mill, Union Glen
of 1

Lower Justice Mill, Union Glen

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Lower Justice Mill, Union Glen
Historic Photographs
Lower Justice Mill, Union Glen
Lower Justice Mill, Union Glen. Justice Mills of one kind or another are first mentioned in the 1300s, and were the site of a famous battle. In their final form, an Upper Justice Mill occupied a site later partially covered by the Odeon Cinema building, while the Lower Mill stood in Union Glen, at the bottom of the steep slope with its mill dam above and behind it (see water wheel centre left). The left hand part of the building and the wheel were removed when the cinema was built, the dam was drained and a thoroughfare created into Union Glen, but the central and right hand parts survived, albeit derelict, into the 1960s.

Silver City Vault user Geoffrey Mann has been in touch to inform us that in 1793 there was a miller at the Justice Mills called George Reid. This information was found from an Old Machar baptismal record for his and Margaret Smith's (his wife) daughter Elizabeth.

Coincidentally, there was another George Reid (1826-1881) who was a partner in the prominent seedsmen and agricultural implement makers, Messrs Benjamin Reid & Co., who had their Bon-Accord Works just to the east of the Justice Mills. The obituary of this later George Reid from The Aberdeen Journal 16/07/1881 states that at the time his death he lived with his two sisters in Justice Mill Lane.
Aberdeen City Centre
Buildings, General Buildings
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Lower Justice Mill
Union Glen
A. McRobb, plumber & electrician