We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Marischal Street at junction with Regent Quay
of 1

Marischal Street at junction with Regent Quay

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Marischal Street at junction with Regent Quay
Historic Photographs
732
Marischal Street at junction with Regent Quay
This photo shows Marischal Street at its junction with Regent Quay, looking north towards Castle Street. It was built to improve the connection between the harbour and the main part of the city, which had previously only been accessible via the steep incline of Shore Brae and the Shiprow. In 1766, the Town Council were successful in purchasing the unoccupied Earl Marischal of Scotland's Lodging which stood on the south side of the Castlegate. It was then demolished to open up the way for the new street which was named in the Earl's honour. It was the first street in Aberdeen to be paved with dressed granite setts. Houses were built and were occupied by prosperous professional men such as Dr William Dyce; Andrew Roberston, William Young and Alexander Fraser both to become Lord Provosts of Aberdeen. These properties were mostly converted to commercial use in later years.
Aberdeen City Centre
Streets
B29_05
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Aberdeen Historic Clocks: Aberdeen Harbour Board Office
52 Regent Quay
33 Regent Quay
James Street