We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Gateway to Powis Lodge
of 1

Gateway to Powis Lodge

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Gateway to Powis Lodge
Historic Photographs
654
Gateway to Powis Lodge
Built in 1834 for John Leslie of Powis by Alexander Fraser, the towers formed the east gate and archway from College Bounds, Old Aberdeen. These oriental style towers with minarets have provoked much interest over the years. At one time there was a portrait of John Leslie dressed in Turkish costume, on the walls of Powis House, but there is no obvious connection between the estate and the Middle East. The gateway is also adorned with panels bearing the coats of arms of the Lairds of Powis. The Estate of Powis was owned by the Frasers - their crest is shown on the towers - until the marriage of an heiress to a Leslie. Powis House was built by Hugh Leslie. By the late 19th century it was owned by the Burnetts and was taken over by Aberdeen City Council in the 1930's as a Community Centre, but was demolished for the Powis Housing Scheme
Old Aberdeen
Buildings, General Buildings
B22_22
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen