We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
of 1

Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Historic Photographs
569
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Built in 1834 for John Leslie of Powis by Alexander Fraser, the towers formed the east gate and archway from College Bounds, Old Aberdeen. These oriental style towers with minarets have provoked much interest over the years. At one time there was a portrait of John Leslie dressed in Turkish costume, on the walls of Powis House, but there is no obvious connection between the estate and the Middle East. The gateway is also adorned with panels bearing the coats of arms of the Lairds of Powis.

The Estate of Powis was owned by the Frasers - their crest is shown on the towers - until the marriage of an heiress to a Leslie. Powis House was built by Hugh Leslie.

The house was the home of John Leslie, Professor of Greek at Kings College. It was subsequently owned by the Burnett Family. In 1936, J.G. Burnett sold most of the estate to Aberdeen Town Council who built a housing estate in the area comprising over 300 residences.

Powis House itself reopened in 1942 as the area's Community Centre and for a while housed a branch of Aberdeen Public Library.
Old Aberdeen
Buildings, General Buildings
B15_04
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen