We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Old channel of the River Dee
of 1

Old channel of the River Dee

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Old channel of the River Dee
Historic Photographs
Old channel of the River Dee
The old channel of the River Dee. After years of discussion about the development of the harbour, the Aberdeen Harbour Act of 1868 allowed the Harbour Commissioners to divert the river to the south. The first turf was cut by Lord Provost Leslie on 22nd December 1869.
George Washington Wilson
Aberdeen Local Studies
Silver City Vault user Ed Fowler has been in touch to point out some of the features that can be seen in the image. Across the channel of the river can be seen the ship and timber yards of the Upper Dock. To the extreme right is a covered jetty structure projecting into the Dee roughly at the end of Regents Road. Beyond these are the masts of sailing ships in the dock and the newly built Townhouse. Beyond the jib crane is the New Post Office, just below Shiprow, in Market Street. Then the Goods Station and Caledonian Railway Station. To their left is the Waverly Hotel in Guild Street, Her Majesty's Theatre and Opera House, later known as the Tivoli, and Hadden's Factory Chimney beyond.
Other Items Like This
Re-alignment of the River Dee
Diversion of the River Dee