We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Stoneyton Clachan, Aberdeen. c.1875
of 1

Stoneyton Clachan, Aberdeen. c.1875

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Stoneyton Clachan, Aberdeen. c.1875
Historic Photographs
Stoneyton Clachan, Aberdeen. c.1875
This group of old houses, identified as Stonytown on some old OS maps, with ashtrees in front, stood on the north side of the road which led from the city westwards towards Skene.

This street is now called Carden Place and the houses were just west of its junction with Prince Arthur Street. They were demolished about 1879 to make way for modern houses.

The thatched building at the left was a blacksmith's and the red tiled houses were occupied by various tradespeople - gardeners, joiners and a bleacher. Plus workers at Rubislaw Quarry. The central house shows the old style outside stair leading to the upper floor.

The roadway between the cottages ran via a wooden bridge over the Denburn towards Fountainhall Road.
Buildings, Cottages
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Stoneyton Clachan, Carden Place
Stoneyton, Old Skene Road
Cottages with drystane dyke