We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Gaelic Chapel, Belmont Street
of 1

Gaelic Chapel, Belmont Street

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Gaelic Chapel, Belmont Street
Historic Photographs
322
Gaelic Chapel, Belmont Street
The Gaelic Chapel was founded in the 18th century in response to the increasing numbers of Highlanders who came to the city in search of work. At first, they held services in the East Church of St. Nicholas but, in the 1790s, they obtained ground in the area between Belmont Street and Back Wynd, now known as Gaelic Lane. The opening services in the new church were conducted on 30th August 1795. In 1843, at the Disruption, the whole congregation followed their minister, Rev. Hugh Mackenzie, into the Free Church. By 1882, the church had become old and delapidated and needed so much renovation that the congregation decided to move. The property was disposed of and was used as a printing office by G. & W. Fraser for a number of years. The congregation moved to a church on Dee Street which had become vacant on the disbanding of the United Free Methodists and it was named St. Columba United Free Church. In 1907, they amalgamated with the High United Free Church and moved to their church at the junction of Belmont Street and Schoolhill.
Aberdeen City Centre
Churches
D04_12
Aberdeen Local Studies