We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
The Old Trades Hall in the Shiprow, Aberdeen. c.1850
of 1

The Old Trades Hall in the Shiprow, Aberdeen. c.1850

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
The Old Trades Hall in the Shiprow, Aberdeen.  c.1850
Historic Photographs
302
The Old Trades Hall in the Shiprow, Aberdeen. c.1850
The Old Trades Hall in the Shiprow, Aberdeen. c.1850 This area, at the southern end of the Shiprow, was the site of the monastery of the Trinity Friars until 1559 when it was burnt to the ground by Protestant Reformers. In 1631, having purchased the lands, Dr William Guild, gifted their old chapel and other buildings to be a hospital and meeting house for the seven Aberdeen Incorporated Trades. These were Hammermen, Bakers, Wrights and Coopers, Tailors, Shoemakers, Weavers, Fleshers. Guild was one of Aberdeen's ministers and afterwards became Principal of Kings College. The Chapel became an Episcopal Church until 1794 when it was removed and replaced by the building seen at the left of the photograph. It was vacated in 1843, when the congregation joined the Free Church, and was then sold and eventually became the Alhambra Music Hall until 1902. On the right was the Trades or Trinity Hall - often known as the Trinity Hall. It had a projecting wing tower and corbelled angle turret, and was demolished around 1857 for railway development. The Trades had already moved into their new premises in Union Street in 1846.
Aberdeen City Centre
Buildings, General Buildings
D01_17
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Trinity Hall
The Trinity Corner
Doorway of the second Trinity Hall
Union Bridge