We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
of 1

Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Historic Photographs
165
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen. These curious towers stand at the gate leading to Powis Lodge, almost opposite King's College, Old Aberdeen. They were constructed by John Leslie of Powis, who succeeded his father, Hugh Leslie of Powis, the builder of Powis House (1802), which was demolished in connection with the Powis Housing Scheme. John Leslie succeeded his father in 1812, and the singular gateway, with the "minarets", dates from about 1830. The towers were finished in 1834. The crescent on the top of one of the towers is the crest of the Frasers, the predecessors of the Leslies in the property of Powis."
Old Aberdeen
Buildings, General Buildings
A45_21
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis Gateway, Old Aberdeen
Powis "Minarets", Old Aberdeen