We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Astoria Cinema, Aberdeen
of 1

Astoria Cinema, Aberdeen

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Astoria Cinema, Aberdeen
Historic Photographs
1152
Astoria Cinema, Aberdeen
The exterior of the Astoria Cinema, Clifton Road, Kittybrewster, Aberdeen, c.1960. In 1934, a new cinema was built on part of the old Central Park, just north of Kittybrewster Auction Marts. It was designed by the architect, T. Scott Sutherland, and was opened on 8th December 1934, with space for more than 2000 people. Its proximity to the relatively new housing areas of Kittybrewster, Powis, Woodside and Hilton should have ensured its success. It was made of concrete over a steel framework, with the roof sloping in a series of steps to produce the best acoustics. It had a colour scheme of light pink, invory and brown with walnut panelling and 2 miles of Wilton carpet. It closed on Saturday 13th August 1966, re-opening later that month as a Bingo Hall but that only lasted a few months and it finally closed in January 1967. In April 1967, it was being demolished and the site redeveloped as a shopping complex. The cinema had had one of the latest Compton theatre organs, which had been removed piece by piece and restored to be placed in the hall of Powis Academy. In November 1982, an arson attack destroyed the organ.
Kittybrewster
Buildings, Cinemas
CIN_13
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
The Astoria Cinema
Belmont Cinema
Odeon Cinema, Aberdeen
Belmont Cinema