We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Doorway of the second Trinity Hall
of 1

Doorway of the second Trinity Hall

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Doorway of the second Trinity Hall
Historic Photographs
110
Doorway of the second Trinity Hall
This photograph shows the Denburn entrance to the second Trinity Hall, home of the Seven Incorporated Trades of Aberdeen. The first Trinity Hall was located on Shiprow and was originally a monastery. The second Trinity Hall was opened on Union Street on 6th March 1847, while the third was opened on Holburn Street in October 1967.

Many thanks to Silver City Vault user Ed Fowler for correcting the location of this image and supplying the following information on the door:

"This portal was constructed using the salvaged Memorial Inscription and Arms panels from the old Bequestor's Gateway to the 1st Tarnty Ha' which stood on Trinity Corner/Putachieside. The Trades had built this fine ornamental gateway with the following inscription: "To ye glorie of God and comfort of the poore this hows was given to the Crafts by Mr. William Guild, Doctour of Divinitie, Minister of Abd: 1633". The buildings were removed when the area was redeveloped in the 1840s but the gateway was built into the Lower Denburn wall of the 2nd Trinity Hall which was opened in Union Street in 1847."
Aberdeen City Centre
Buildings, General Buildings
A23_03
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Union Street (looking east)
Union Street from Union Terrace
Union Bridge
Union Bridge and the Trinity Hall from Union Terrace Gardens