We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
King's College Library, Old Aberdeen
of 1

King's College Library, Old Aberdeen

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
King's College Library, Old Aberdeen
Historic Photographs
1076
King's College Library, Old Aberdeen
Kings College was founded by Bishop William Elphinstone in 1495. Marischal College was founded as an independent university in 1593. The two formed the University of Aberdeen in the fusion of 1860. The core of Kings College Library was formed from the books Elphinstone left in the latter years of his life. The books were originally housed in a room in the south east tower (now the round tower). They were then moved to a building on the south side of Kings College Chapel, and in 1773 to the west end of the Chapel. They were located in 1870 to a new building as illustrated. This library was extended in 1885, with galleries being installed in 1912, reading desks in 1932 and a mezzanine floor in 1964. This image shows Kings College Library when it was closed in 1983. The library was converted into Kings College Conference Centre in 1991.
Old Aberdeen
Buildings, Libraries
K07_16
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This