We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Aberdeen Suburban Tramways
of 1

Aberdeen Suburban Tramways

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Aberdeen Suburban Tramways
Historic Photographs
Aberdeen Suburban Tramways
Aberdeen Suburban Tramways. This is Tram No.5 outside the Mannofield depot of the Aberdeen Suburban Tramways, with Inspector Kerr on the platform and Driver George Cormack beside him. This was one of the first trams purchased by the company which started business in 1904. This tram was built by the British Electrical Engineering Co, Loughborough and was one of six which were delivered in sections by rail to Aberdeen Joint Station in June 1904 before being taken to the depot for assembly. Although they were double deck, the upper deck was open topped and had 35 seats with 33 inside. The lower deck was split into 3 compartments with the centre one being non-smoking. It had leather upholstery and horsehair padded benches seating 7 on each side. The other (smoking) compartments had slatted wooden benches seating 2 to each side. The company ceased running trams in 1927.
Transport, Buses and Trams
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Tram No1 outside Bankhead Church
Suburban tram in Bankhead Road
Tram outside Stoneywood Church
The No2. Woodside Tram, 1900