We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
of 71


Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Historic Photographs
This view from about 1890, shows one of Aberdeen's historic streets - the Shiprow.

For centuries this was the main street leading from the harbour into the centre of Aberdeen at the Castlegate, until the building of Marischal and Market Street.

At the left is William Arthur's City bar - this block was demolished around 1900, and most of the other buildings in the photo were also removed in the 1920's as the area had became very rundown.

Further demolition of the area at the left hand side took place in the 1960s to make way for a multi-storey carpark and supermarket.
The buildings on the right hand side were replaced by the ABC Cinema which was demolished for further redevelopment (1999).

The only building which remains would have been just round the corner. It is known as Provost Ross' House and now houses Aberdeen Maritime Museum.

It appears that granite cobbles are being laid down in the photograph.
Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Abbey Place, Shiprow
Doorway of the second Trinity Hall
Provost Ross' House in the Shiprow