We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
The Bridewell
of 17

The Bridewell

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
The Bridewell
Historic Photographs
2089
The Bridewell
The Bridewell or West Prison, Rose Street - the Bridewell stood in Rose Street, off the west end of Union Street. This photo was taken by William Garey, about 1868, when the building was being demolished. Bridewell was a name adopted by many institutions and recalls a London building dedicated to St. Bride which became used as a House of Correction. This building, designed by James Burn, was opened on 2 October 1809, as a House of Correction. It was surrounded by a 14 foot high wall with a garden enclosed. The gateway had a porter's lodge and guardhouse attached. There were 5 floors with the topmost being the hospital and storerooms. Each floor was divided by a gallery which ran the whole length of the building with a large windos at each end. On one side of the gallery there were 11 cells for work and on the other side 14 cells used for sleeping. Each work cell had 2 long narrow windows, while the sleeping cells only had one window. When the new Court House and jail were built in 1819 and named the East Prison, the Bridewell eventually became known as the West Prison. By the 1860s, the East Prison was adequate to cater for the number of inmates and the West Prison was closed in 1864. The building was demolished and its site became the works of James Garvie and Sons, carpenters and cabinetmakers.
William Garey
D32_04
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Gateway to Bridewell Prison
Bridewell Prison, Rose Street
Freedom Lands and Marches of Aberdeen, Inner March Stone
Freedom Lands and Marches of Aberdeen, Inner March Stone