We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
The Town House under construction
of 14

The Town House under construction

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
The Town House under construction
Historic Photographs
1757
The Town House under construction
Discussions had been held in relation to the construction of new public buildings for the County and City of Aberdeen since the early 1860s. Royal Assent was given to the Aberdeen County and Municipal Buildings Act 1866, which gave permission for a Court House for the County and City of Aberdeen; a hall for public meetings; a Town House for the City with offices for staff; a building for the accommodation of the Police Commissioners and their staff. Plans were drawn up by the Edinburgh architects Peddie and Kinnear and work on the demolition of buildings on the site (including the old Town House) at the junction of Castle Street/Union Street and Broad Street began in 1867. The offices in this section were occupied in January 1871. A lofty vestibule and broad circular stair led to the Town Hall and offices on the first and second storeys. The architecture is of a medieval Flemish style which recalls Aberdeen's trading links with the Low Countries. The building was completed in 1874. This image shows the partially completed building around 1869/70 when the 200-foot-high West Tower and one block had been completed - two more matching sections were still to be done.
A19_19
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Under Construction. Please come back soon...
Union Street junction with Broad Street
Broad Street looking South
Broad Street, Aberdeen