We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Upper Dock
of 48

Upper Dock

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Upper Dock
Historic Photographs
52
Upper Dock
A photograph showing many large sailing ships in the Upper Dock of Aberdeen Harbour. This image looks north west towards the junction of Market and Guild Street from Regent Road (near the start of Blaikie's Quay).

The prominent granite building in the background was at the corner of this junction at 62-68 Market Street. It was a warehouse and offices with shops on the ground floor. The site was redeveloped for the office blocks that can be seen today in around the early 1980s. This block may have been demolished at that time.

Prior to the late 19th century continuing development of Market Street and the creation of Provost Jamieson's Quay, the south side of the Upper Dock was the site of various ship building yards, with timber yards behind.

The ship shown in front of the building is the City of Aberdeen. It was built in 1862 by John Duthie, Sons & Co. for the China trade. It was altered to barque rigging in 1877 and this be the period of this photograph. The ship has an entry on the Aberdeen Built Ships website here.
Aberdeen Harbour
Harbours
A10_09
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
Palace Hotel, Union Street
Victoria Dock
Hardweird
Beach Bathing Station