We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Castlehill Barracks
of 381

Castlehill Barracks

Historic Documents
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Castlehill Barracks
Historic Documents
22
Castlehill Barracks
A view of the southern aspect of the Castlehill in about 1850, with the Barracks featuring prominently. The Barracks replaced the Chapel of St. Ninian and an observatory erected in 1781. The foundation stone was laid on 24th June 1794 by the Marquis of Huntly and it was completed early in 1796, with accommodation for 600 men. The picture is interesting, as it shows the line of Hangman's Brae, which descended from the south west corner of the hill to Castle Lane and into Virginia Street. It was partly absorbed into the construction of Castle Terrace in 1864. The houses on the left of the illustration with the outside steps were incorporated into the first Hospital for Sick Children in 1877.
A22_09
Aberdeen Local Studies
Yes
Other Items Like This
Castlehill Barracks
Aberdeen Fire Brigade
The Barracks, Woodside
Hays Views Of Aberdeen Print Series 1840