We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Seaton's view of Castle Street
of 2674

Seaton's view of Castle Street

Historic Photographs
This item is active and ready to use
Seaton's view of Castle Street
Historic Photographs
746
Seaton's view of Castle Street
This view was drawn by Robert Seaton in 1806. On the left is the Tolbooth and adjoining it is the Mason Lodge and New Inn. The property was sold in 1839 to the proprietors of the North of Scotland Bank and the bank offices were erected on the site in 1840-2. In the late 1990s, the bank closed and became a pub, called Archibald Simpson's, after the original architect. The prominent building on the right side was the Aberdeen Bank, later to become the Bank of Scotland building. The tall man in the centre was John Ewen, jeweller, the man on the right with the drum was Watty Leith, Town Drummer, and on the left is John Milne, the Town Hangman, talking to the fishwives, claiming his free fish as perks of his trade.
Aberdeen City Centre
General Views
B31_09
Aberdeen Local Studies
Other Items Like This
North of Scotland Bank, Aberdeen
Crown Street
Mackie Place
Mackie Place