We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Purchase Item

Union Street (looking east)

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Historic Photographs Details
This image of a busy Union Street is from an old postcard created by Aberdeen City Council's Department of Development & Tourism.

The information on the rear of the card states that the image looks to the east, towards "Aberdeen's main shopping centre". This most likely refers to the Trinity Centre that can be seen on the mid-right.

The Trinity Centre is located on the site of the second Trinity Hall, home of the Incorporated Trades organisation.

Constructed in 1846, the second Trinity Hall was largely demolition in 1967 when the Incorporated Trades moved to their current location on Holburn Street. The distinctive frontage on Union Street, visible in this picture, was however retained.

The Trinity Centre opened in October 1984 and this image likely dates from the mid-to-late 1980s.
Union Street
Purchase Options