We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Purchase Item

Aberdeen Eye Institution

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Historic Photographs Details
The doric portico and entrance to 142 King Street during its time as the Aberdeen Eye Institution. Previously known as the Aberdeen Ophthalmic Institution, this specialist eye hospital was founded in 1835 by Sir James McGrigor and Dr. John Cadenhead. It was originally located on the south end of Belmont Street and moved to 142 King Street in 1903.

142 King Street was built by the architect John Smith as his family home and office in around 1817. The expansion of King Street and nearby streets surrounded the villa with access from King Street was through a small pend. After the Aberdeen Eye Institution the building was occupied by the Boilermakers Social Club into the early 2000s.

This image comes from an Annual Report & Abstract of Accounts for the hospital from the 1911. Aberdeen Local Studies hold a number of these reports from the period 1896 to 1913.
King Street
Purchase Options