We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Purchase Item

Treasure 78: Northfield and Mastrick Libraries

Historic Documents
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Historic Documents Details
Both Northfield and Mastrick Libraries opened during the month of October in 1955 and 1957 respectively as part of a plan formulated by the Library Committee to extend the provision of branch libraries into new housing areas. From photographs, plans and news cuttings in the Library Archive we can take a look at the early history of both libraries.

In January 1950, building began on the Northfield estate, the first major housing development in post war Aberdeen. By June 1952, 800 families had moved to the area and were served by the mobile library which made evening visits to Marchburn Drive and Deansloch Terrace. These sites were very busy with over 9000 books issued and people often queued to use the service.

At a meeting of the Public Library Committee in January 1953 it was agreed to ask Aberdeen Corporation to erect a library building on a site in Northfield.

The construction of a new branch library began in the autumn of 1954. On 12 October 1955, the G. M. Fraser Branch (named in memory of the late City Librarian) was officially opened on Byron Square by Mr. Thomas Johnston, former Scottish Secretary.

The success and popularity of Northfield Library inspired the committee to open a similar unit on the adjacent housing estate of Mastrick. The first section of the new Mastrick Branch Library opened on Greenfern Road on 18 October 1957, with the second section opening in 1961.

View the Treasures from our Collection interactive exhibition on the touchscreens in Central, Airyhall, Tillydrone and Mastrick libraries to find out more about the history of Mastrick and Northfield libraries.
Purchase Options