We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Purchase Item

Treasure 67: Proposed Bathing Station and Promenade for Aberdeen Beach, 1893

Historic Documents
Léa Moreau
This item is active and ready to use
Historic Documents Details
We're revisiting Aberdeen Beach again this month as we take a closer look at a lithograph of the Proposed Beach Bathing Station and Promenade from 1893 by City Architect John Rust and Alexander Gibb & Co.

The Bathing Station opened in May 1896 and featured a range of brand new facilities in a purpose-built, red brick building at Aberdeen Beach. Facilities included plunging baths supplied with fresh and salt water, retiring rooms and a refreshment room.

It proved so popular that it had been extended by 1898 to include a swimming pool, water chute, additional baths and Turkish Baths.

Generations of Aberdonians learnt to swim in the fresh water pool. The prominent Victorian red brick building stood overlooking the beach and smoke could often be seen pouring from its monumental chimney stack which dominated the city skyline.

By the 1970s, the building was gradually deteriorating and a decline in use sadly led to its closure in July 1972 before the building was demolished.

View images from our archive of Aberdeen Bathing Station in the Treasures from our Collections interactive exhibition on the touchscreens in Central, Airyhall, Tillydrone and Mastrick libraries.
Purchase Options