We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Purchase Item

The Harbour, Aberdeen

Historic Photographs
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Historic Photographs Details
An Adelphi Series postcard showing Aberdeen Harbour in the early 20th century.

This photograph features in the book Coastal Passenger Liners of the British Isles (2011) by Nick Robins. It is captioned as follows:

"City of Aberdeen (1873) leaving her home port behind the tug John McConnachie (1879). The North company's St Sunniva (1887) is alongside centre left."

The Scottish Built Ships website indicates that the City of Aberdeen was an iron screw streamer built in 1873 by Cunliffe & Dunlop of Port Glasgow. The ship's first owner was the Aberdeen Steam Navigation Co. and it was used to transport passengers and cargo.

The ship was sold to a Greek firm of shipowners and renamed the Salamis in 1906. Its sale and overhaul was reported in the Aberdeen Daily Journal of 15th October 1906, page 4.
Aberdeen Harbour
Purchase Options