We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Purchase Item

Newhills Parish Church

Historic Documents
David Oswald
This item is active and ready to use
Historic Documents Details
This picture shows the present Church of Newhills as it would have been at the time of its opening in June 1830. It was built to replace the old kirk, endowed by George Davidson of Pettens in 1662, the ruins of which can still be seen among the tombstones in the churchyard. After a decline in membership in the 1940s and 1950s, the church benefited from the building of both a private and a council housing estate in its area. Membership of the church and its organisations increased till, in 1978, it was reported to be one of the most vibrant and successful in the Aberdeen Presbytery. The external appearance of the church is little changed but a huge congregational effort in recent years has resulted in the building of a two-storeyed extension housing a number of meeting rooms plus toilet and kitchen facilities. The road seen in the picture is now used by a large numbers of vehicles en route to Kingswells and the west of Aberdeen.
Purchase Options