We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
Purchase Item

Shepherd's Court gateway, Guestrow

Historic Photographs
Sarah Dyce
This item is active and ready to use
Historic Photographs Details
Shepherd's Court gateway, Guestrow. This arch was initially removed to Union Terrace Gardens circa 1931 and then re-positioned in front of Provost Skene's House around 1970.

(Many thanks for additional information provided by Gary Ether, Aberdeen)

The sign that can be partially seen on the extreme left is likely for Hay & Lyall, a company of carvers and gilders that were based at 19 Guestrow for some time.

The company was run by John Hay (Jnr.) and his brother in law, Robert Watson Lyall. The Hay family played a long and varied role in the Aberdeen art trade, including providing frames for many local artists.

John Hay's obituary from the Aberdeen Weekly Journal, 21st October 1896 p. 5, gives particular praise to his decorative carvings on the ceilings of the Town House and the Mitchell Hall in Marischal College.

He was also a one time partner of pioneering photographer George Washington Wilson, who took this photograph.

(Thanks to Ed Fowler for additional information)
Purchase Options